Challenge · Nail art

31DC2016 Day 4 – Green gradient stripes

After Day 3’s super detailed nail art, I decided I wanted something much simpler for Day 4’s green prompt.

#31DC2016 Day 4 - Green Gradient Stripes | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 4 – Green Gradient Stripes

I started with a base of two coats of Zoya Seraphina, a soft silver with silver glass fleck. I thought the silver would play nicely off the silver glitter in the Pixies.

#31DC2016 Day 4 - Green Gradient Stripes | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 4 – Green Gradient Stripes

After that was thoroughly dry, I painted a layer of latex around my nails and then added three pieces of striping tape to each nail. I used Zoya Vespa (light minty sage green texture) and Zoya Chita (dark forest green texture) for the gradient, which needed two coats for the best color.

#31DC2016 Day 4 - Green Gradient Stripes | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 4 – Green Gradient Stripes

I found it rather funny that these ended up being Slytherin colors, especially since I had Harry Potter on while I was picking my colors. 😀 The only problem with applying textured polishes like this is that it seriously increases how textured it turns out. I’m pretty sure that it would’ve snagged on everything imaginable if I had actually worn it for long.

That’s all for now! Thanks for looking!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

