Challenge · Nail art

31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

Hey, y’all! I had a serious mental block when it came to editing these pictures, but they’re done now. While I was looking for challenge inspiration, I came across this painting on Etsy, which is supposed to be a Paris cityscape. I thought it was really pretty, so it became my yellow nail art.

#31DC2016 Day 3 - Yellow Cityscape | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

I started with a base of Julep Brigitte, a plain white creme that’s nearly opaque in one coat. I’ve made my thoughts on Julep and their bottles well-known, but I have to admit this is a really good white.

#31DC2016 Day 3 - Yellow Cityscape | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

I used China Glaze Sun Upon My Skin (light lemon yellow creme), Zoya Pippa (medium lemon yellow creme), Sinful Colors Pull Over (egg yolk yellow creme), and Sinful Colors Cloud 9 (yellow orange with gold shimmer) for the sky gradient. I picked up each color individually and dabbed it on, overlapping and going back over wherever necessary to blend. I also dabbed on a bit of Brigitte where the sun is.

#31DC2016 Day 3 - Yellow Cityscape | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

For the buildings, I used, again mixing some colors to make the shades I wanted:

#31DC2016 Day 3 - Yellow Cityscape | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

After outlining the buildings, I used Zoya Carey and OPI French Quarter for Your Thoughts to paint on the roofs. Finally, I added the windows and the rest of the detailing using black and white acrylic paint. I loved how this turned out so much that I’m still wearing it instead of taking it off to do my green nail art!

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “31DC2016 Day 3 – Yellow Cityscape

Please feel free to leave a comment!

