Challenge · Nail art

31DC2016 Day 1 – Simple Red Floral nail art

Hey, y’all! I’m going to attempt the 31 Day Challenge again this year! (Hopefully, I’ll get further than the purple that I did last year…) If you don’t know what it’s about, you can find all the details here at Chalkboard Nails. Basically, though, you follow a different nail art prompt every day for 31 days. I’ve already got a few days painted and photographed, so I’m a tiny bit ahead of the game. But enough about that, let’s get on to my nail art for Day 1: Red!

#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art

Back at Easter, my sister gave me these mini L.A. Colors Color Craze polishes that were in a set called “Polish Fever.” Unfortunately, there were no names on either the packaging or the bottles themselves (not even a color number…), and I haven’t been able to get a response from L.A. Colors. So as a result, I have NO IDEA what the three colors I used for this are called. Also: if you know the set that I’m talking about and can fill me in on the names, please let me know! I hate not having names for them in my polish spreadsheet.

#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art

Anyway, I started with a base of 2 coats of the white creme. For being a mini and a white, it applied pretty well, but if you press a little too hard, it does dig into the layer below. I used the black creme and a cut-down striping brush to freehand the branches.

#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art | Erin's Enamel
#31DC2016 Day 1: Simple Red Floral nail art

I used a dotting tool with this really pretty red shimmer to add the flowers. I just went for general flowery shapes rather than anything specific. Then I touched up the branches and added some of the smaller ones.

This was really simple to do and (I think) had a rather striking result. Click through to the InLinkz link-up below and check out some more red nail art!

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

Save

2 thoughts on “31DC2016 Day 1 – Simple Red Floral nail art

Please feel free to leave a comment!

