Nail art

Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art

Hi, all! Before I get to today’s post, I wanted to share that Zoya is having a promo where you get 4 polishes for $15, shipped. It runs through 1/13/16 and, of course, excludes the Naked Manicure and the new Whisper shades. You can see all of my posts with Zoya polishes here. Now onto the polish!

Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art | Erin's Enamel
Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art

I used a peel off base under this since I didn’t know how well it was going to go (all my other attempts have been fails). Pro-tip: make sure it is 100% dry before you try to apply polish because otherwise it goes lumpy and deformed looking like on my index finger…

Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art | Erin's Enamel
Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art

I used one coat of OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls as a base. One coat was decent coverage for my current purposes, but it would need a second if you were just going to wear it.

Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art | Erin's Enamel
Sharpie Watercolor Nail Art

I used pink, blue, and purple Sharpies for the watercolor effect. Instead of drawing directly on my nail, I scribbled on a paint palette with each color and added a little bit of rubbing alcohol to thin it. Then I dabbed it on using a regular paint brush. I discovered that if I didn’t let the previous dabs dry enough before adding the next color, the colors muddled together more than I wanted. I did find also that the ink ran into my cuticles a bit and didn’t want to come out.

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

