Challenge · Nail art

OMD Challenge Day 23 – Under the Sea

Good morning! I’m back again with a fishy manicure for “Under the Sea.” While searching for inspiration, I found this article: “22 Stunning Sea Creatures with Beautiful Examples of Biodiversity” and decided to pick a few fish from it to replicate on my nails.

OMD Challenge Day 23 - Under the Sea - The Fish | Erin's Enamel (From top left to bottom right: Juvenile Emperor Angelfish, Regal Tang, French Angelfish, and Rainbow Parrot Fish)
From top left to bottom right: Juvenile Emperor Angelfish, Regal Tang, French Angelfish, and Rainbow Parrot Fish

I loved the bright colors of these fish, especially the Rainbow Parrot Fish.

OMD Challenge Day 23 - Under the Sea | Erin's Enamel
OMD Challenge Day 23 – Under the Sea

On my index finger, for the juvenile Emperor Angelfish, I started with a base of Sinful Colors Black on Black. I used white acrylic paint to make the lines and then went over them with Sinful Colors Endless Blue and China Glaze Too Yacht to Handle.

On my middle finger is the Regal Tang. I used two coats of Zoya Serenity (which is more red than my picture shows, despite my best efforts to color-correct it… I mean, really, why hasn’t someone far smarter than me figured out how to fix the purple problem yet?). I used black acrylic paint for that area, white acrylic paint for the fin part, and went over the white with China Glaze Daisy Know My Name?.

OMD Challenge Day 23 - Under the Sea | Erin's Enamel
OMD Challenge Day 23 – Under the Sea

For the French Angelfish on my ring finger, I used 2 coats of Black on Black as a base. The white stripes are acrylic paint, and I used Daisy Know My Name? for the scaly bits.

Finally, on my pinky finger for the Rainbow Parrot Fish, I used a white base to make 2 coats of Too Yacht to Handle look really bright. I used white acrylic paint for the lines and dots and then topped it with China Glaze You Drive Me Coconuts. My poor camera couldn’t handle the insane brightness of that nail.



That’s all for now! Thanks for looking!

4 thoughts on “OMD Challenge Day 23 – Under the Sea

Please feel free to leave a comment!

