Makeup · Swatch

Coastal Scents Hot Pots Swatches

Hi, everyone! I don’t know about the rest of you, but I am so glad that it’s Friday, just so I can sleep in tomorrow morning. 😀 Anyway, I’m still thoroughly enjoying the mani from my last post, so I decided to put up some eyeshadow swatches today. I have 12 colors from Coastal Scents’ “Hot Pots” line of eyeshadow singles, which I’ve put into one of their 12 well interchangeable palettes.

For the record, all swatches were done without primer. In the swatch photos, they appear in the same order from left to right as they do in the palette.

Coastal Scents Hot Pots in 12 Well Interchangeable Palette | Erin's Enamel
Coastal Scents Hot Pots in 12 Well Interchangeable Palette

The palette is magnetized, so the shadows absolutely do not go anywhere. There is also a full mirror in the lid, which you can just see at the top of the pic. The Hot Pots are $1.95 each, but Coastal Scents has relatively frequent sales. Each pot is about an inch in diameter and holds .05 oz of product. Keep reading below to see the names of each shade and my thoughts.

Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Regalia Purple, Edgy Eggplant, Elven Midnight, and Niagara | Erin's Enamel
Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Regalia Purple, Edgy Eggplant, Elven Midnight, and Niagara

Regalia Purple: a frosty, shimmery grayed-out grape. It’s a little lacking in pigmentation, but like most eyeshadows, it’s more vivid and truer to the pan color over primer.

Edgy Eggplant: matte grape purple. So gorgeous in the pan, patchy on bare skin. That’s what primer is for though. In fact, pretty much all of the shadows are better over primer.

Elven Midnight: shimmery, silvery purple (although CS calls it gunmetal). My pic frustratingly does not do this color justice. It’s a very soft color, but it has quite good pigmentation.

Niagara: an aqua blue with gold shimmer, so it appears a little greenish depending how the light hits it. Great pigmentation on this one, and it is definitely very shimmery.

Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Forest Eve, Wizardry, Prehistoric Green, Celery Ice | Erin's Enamel
Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Forest Eve, Wizardry, Prehistoric Green, and Celery Ice

Forest Eve: lightly shimmery pine green. Quite good pigmentation. The shimmer is just enough to give it some depth without being crazy metallic. The base color reminds me of Crayola’s Pine Green crayon. 🙂

Wizardry: a shimmery murky sea green. Putting this one over primer makes the shimmer more pronounced, but it has otherwise good pigmentation.

Prehistoric Green: a Crayola Green matte. (Is it sad that I think in crayon colors…?) It’s patchy and sheer. It’s a fair bit better over primer, but it still has issues. I love the color, but I suggest staying away from the terrible formula. I will note that I haven’t tried it over a white base to see if that helps.

Celery Ice: shimmery celery green. This one is meant to be somewhat sheer. I love the gold shimmer in this one.

Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Bright Yellow, Canary Gold, Deep Cantaloupe, Fire Glow | Erin's Enamel
Coastal Scents Hot Pots: Bright Yellow, Canary Gold, Deep Cantaloupe, and Fire Glow

(This picture was the biggest PITA to get color accurate. It still seems a tiny bit off to me, but the swatches are as close as I could get them.)

Bright Yellow: a self-explanatory name. After the other two mattes, I expected this one to be a problem child too, but it’s really lovely. It is definitely very bright though, much brighter than even my swatch shows.

Canary Gold: soft, shimmery yellow gold. I love this color. It’s another one that’s meant to be semi-sheer and is a very flattering shade.

Deep Cantaloupe: a shimmery golden orange. It is just the tiniest bit patchy, but overall it has good pigmentation.

Fire Glow: a warm, shimmery red. It makes me think of a sunset. The base shade reads as a little pinker to me, but the golden shimmer pulls it back over to warm. It’s slightly sheer but still quite vivid.

Whew! I seemed to favor shimmery shades, didn’t I? Overall, the shimmer shades had far better formulas than the mattes. Prehistoric Green is the biggest disappointment for me. I wanted to love that bright green so much, but it’s… terrible, for lack of a better word.

So what do you think? Any shades here you might be interested in picking up? Or do you tend to stay away from brighter colors like these? Would anyone be interested in seeing the other shades I have from Coastal Scents too?

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

 

9 thoughts on “Coastal Scents Hot Pots Swatches

    1. I haven’t tried any of their palettes except one of the Revealed palettes, so I can’t really say. The swatches and reviews I’ve seen around the web make the palettes sound like they’d be comparable to the Hot Pots in terms of quality.

      Like

  1. I have been thinking about trying out some of the costal scents shadows so I would love to see some more swatches! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Please feel free to leave a comment!

