Nail art · Notes from me · Swatch

The Lacquer Legion – Reinvention – Green Snakeskin with Zoya

Hi, everyone! The Lacquer Legion is a monthly nail art challenge created by some of the biggest names in nail polish blogging: Work / Play / Polish, Chalkboard Nails, Rebecca Likes Nails, and The Nailasaurus. When I saw this month’s theme was “Reinvention” and some of the possible interpretations, I decided to join in and reinvent one of my early nail art attempts. I chose the green snakeskin because, while the stamping itself was pretty darn good, the colors underneath aren’t punchy enough for my liking and there’s some serious tip wear/tip pull going on.

Zoya Ivanka - Erin's Enamel
Zoya Ivanka

I started with a base of two thin coats of Zoya Ivanka. How gorgeous is this green?! It’s packed with bright gold glass fleck shimmer but leans blue at the edges! Sorry about the splotch on my bottle. It just shows how well-loved it is, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also added a single thin coat of Opal over this, but I forgot to take a picture of that step.

Zoya Ivanka sponged with Hunter, Kerry, and Giovanna - Erin's Enamel
Zoya Ivanka sponged with Hunter, Kerry, and Giovanna

So next I sponged on Hunter, Kerry, and Giovanna in random blotches, using torn-up bits of cosmetic wedges. I went back over a few spots with Ivanka until it looked how I wanted.

Lacquer Legion Reinvention - Green Snakeskin - Erin's Enamel
Green Snakeskin

Finally, as in the original, I stamped on a snakeskin pattern using Zoya Envy and Bundle Monster plate BM-215. The stamp transferred a little better on some fingers (my pinky and index fingers) than others (middle and ring). In person, the end result is so saturated and vivid. I keep thinking that I should call it “An Ode to Slytherin.”

Lacquer Legion Reinvention - Green Snakeskin - Then and Now - Erin's Enamel
Green Snakeskin – Then and Now (with much nicer cuticles)

I’m hoping that I can use this Reinvention post as a jumping off point to get my blogging mojo back. Lately the whole process, from actually painting my nails to taking and editing pics to writing out posts, has seemed very tedious, but I’ve also missed it. So I figure that recreating something from when I was new to the whole thing and so excited about it is a good way to sort of reinvent my mindset.

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

One thought on “The Lacquer Legion – Reinvention – Green Snakeskin with Zoya

Please feel free to leave a comment!

