Makeup · Swatch

Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smoky Eye Palette Swatches + Review

 

*Products provided by BrandBacker for my unbiased review*

Hi, all! Sorry that it’s been nearly a month since I last posted. Between school, holidays, house/pet-sitting for my sister, and a host of other issues, blogging took a bit of a backseat. But I’m back today with a bit of a different post. My love for makeup is as strong as my love for nail polish, so I was very excited to learn that I’d be receiving this palette! Let’s see what I thought!

Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Swatches + Review - Erin's Enamel
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Outer Sleeve
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Swatches + Review - Erin's Enamel
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette

The palette comes in this really pretty outer sleeve, which just slides off to reveal the palette within. I have to admit, I wish the actual palette was as pretty as the sleeve. It has a magnetic closure and comes with a plastic closure to protect the shadows and blush.

Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Swatches + Review - Erin's Enamel
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Instructions and Diagram

The palette opens flat, and this diagram is on the inside of the lid. I don’t have any brushes from Studio Gear, but I was able to use my own brushes to replicate this look fairly well.

Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Pans of pretty color
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette – Pans of pretty color

Each of the shadow pans is about the size of a quarter, while the blush is probably the size of a half-dollar. It’s a pretty good amount of product for a $40 palette. One thing that bothers me is that the shadows aren’t laid out in the same places as they are in the diagram. If someone’s not paying very close attention to which shadow they’re picking up, the results could be less than ideal. It’s a minor niggle, to be sure, but there it is.

Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Swatches + Review - Erin's Enamel
Studio Gear Cosmetics Holiday Smokey Eye Palette Swatches (over primer)

Everything in the palette is shimmery, which resulted in a fair bit of fallout. My swatches were somewhat heavily applied, and all except the blush were applied over Too Faced Shadow Insurance primer. Pigmentation was fairly good on these, but Coal was a bit patchy. When I used these for an eye look, they blended fairly well without the colors becoming muddy or overly sheer. I do wish that they had included a matte shade, especially if it was the blush. However, given that it’s a holiday palette, I’m not surprised by the shimmer.

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with this palette. It’s a good size for the money. More importantly, the eyeshadows and blush are pretty colors and quite high quality. As I said, the dark gray/black is a bit patchy, but it’s nothing that I would call “bad” by any means. You can buy the Holiday Smokey Eye Palette on the Studio Gear website here. Use the code SGHOLIDAY for 10% off your order! And follow Studio Gear on all of their social networks!

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/StudioGearCosmetics
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SGearCosmetics
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/studiogear
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/studiogearcosmetics

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

