Nail art

Chevron nail art inspired by Tristan Prettyman Cedar + Gold cover

Hi, everyone! That’s an insanely long post title, isn’t it? It feels like it’s been awhile since I’ve done or posted any nail art, so today, I have some inspired by the album cover for Tristan Prettyman’s Cedar + Gold:

Tristan Prettyman Cedar + Gold coverI really loved how graphic the chevrons are, so I did my own take on them:

Tristan Prettyman Cedar + Gold cover-inspired nail art

I started with a base of three coats of Zoya Jacqueline. I then freehanded the chevrons using a striping brush and Zoya Sooki (red), Pretty Serious Morning Java (brown), Zoya Thandie (orange), China Glaze First Mate (blue). Unfortunately, my top coat caused some smearing, although it wasn’t nearly as noticeable in person. All in all, I was pretty darn pleased with how this turned out!

“My Oh My” was the song that got me into Tristan’s music, so I thought I’d include the video:

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

6 thoughts on “Chevron nail art inspired by Tristan Prettyman Cedar + Gold cover

    1. Thanks for the suggestion! Unfortunately, Seche Vite doesn’t play well with my body chemistry. 😦 It causes shrinkage, especially with Zoya, which I tend to wear the most.

      Like

      1. Oh – sorry to hear that! And you’re right – Seche Vite does shrink; I’ve noticed myself and I heard other bloggers mentioning it, too. I just haven’t been able to find another top coat that works so great with multicolored manis. Hmm.. I guess we’ll just have to keep on searching for the perfect top coat? πŸ˜‰

        Like

        1. I use the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri, and for the most part, it works pretty well. I just have to remember to give whatever nail art I do a little more time to dry before I put the top coat on, especially when it’s something like this where I put the color on kind of thick.

          Like

Please feel free to leave a comment!

