Nail art

Valentine’s Day stripes

I didn’t set out to make this a Valentine’s Day themed mani, but as I was looking through my untrieds bin, that’s just where it went. 🙂 It’s always kind of nice when something just jumps out at me if I’m feeling directionless.

Valentine's Day stripes

I started with a base of Zoya Bela. So, so, so sheer. I knew that it was sheer, I just didn’t think it would take FOUR COATS to reach a reasonable opacity. Anyway, it’s still a gorgeous soft ballerina pink, so I can’t be too mad at it. 😉 I then freehanded some stripes using a striper brush and Zoya Aurora (the sparkly purple), Maybelline Color Show Amethyst Ablaze (the plain, pearly purple), and Maybelline Color Show Magenta Mirage (the bright… magenta). The ends of my vertical stripes weren’t quite even, so I added the horizontal stripe to better define the ends. All in all, I was pretty pleased with how this turned out.

To go with my accidental Valentine’s Day nails, I have a song by Bobby Darin. I came across “More” while I was looking for a different song of his, and I decided that, if I ever get married, this would be the song I’d want to have my first dance to. (Don’t worry, it’s an upbeat, jazzy song, not sappy.)

That’s all for today! Thanks for looking!

Please feel free to leave a comment!

